Educators' space

Gemmes is creating a space for all educators and those accompanying
12–18-year-olds: parents, teachers, animators, specialized educators, etc.

The aim is to offer a place for exchanges and mutual support, in order to learn together how to go further in accompanying young people and discovering their immense potential.

Facilitator: Laurence de CLOSETS

Audience: parents of young people between 12 and 18 years old

Format : online - 4 hours (2 x 2 hours)

Language : French

 

Objectives and methodology:

• To change our view of the teenager and see in him/her the "social newborn" described by Maria Montessori

• To understand the potential of this period of crucial transformation in the development of the child and the construction of the adult

• To understand the specific needs of this age group in relation to profound changes in society

• To develop a new type of relationship and support for adolescents, oriented towards "social autonomy”

• To exchange and reflect on the work of Maria Montessori

• To analyse experiences and exchange practices

Who is Laurence de Closets?

Laurence is a Montessori educator, trainer and in charge of educational projects. She has spent the past 20 years observing and listening to parents, educators, children and adolescents on four continents and in ten countries. She is dedicated to the search for universality in child development, and to the study of what would make education the ultimate tool for building a better world. Her work focuses mainly on transforming adult educators and their way of perceiving the child, on how this transformation can change the environment in which the child grows up, and on helping to reveal its still mysterious potential. In December 2019, Laurence published a book (currently only available in French) Le Secret de l’enfant - Comment changer son regard sur l’enfant --The Secret of the Child - How to change the way you look at a child --  which focuses on two different age groups: 0-6 years and 12-18 years.

www.lesecretdelenfant.com

Previous workshops

- 16 and 30 September 2021 (8 to 10 pm CET)

- 7 and 20 October 2021 (8 to 10 pm CET)

For more information, please contact: Mélanie Sambuis

GROWING PAINS OF ADOLESCENCE 

Rebecca TECLEMARIAM-MESBAH

Phd in neurosciences and education expert
Member of the Board of Directors of Gemmes

In the early 1600s, Shakespeare had one of his characters say: “I would there were no age between ten and three-and-twenty, or that youth would sleep out the rest; for there is nothing in the between but getting wenches with child, wronging the anciently, stealing, fighting.1” This traditional view that adolescence is the worst part of life is unfortunately deeply ingrained in the human psyche.  Parents are defeated and helpless when confronted with their teenage children. They say “We do not recognize our sweet child any more”. Teachers entering classrooms feel like a gladiator stepping in an arena. And more importantly youth and pre-youth feel they are not understood and experience thoughts of darkness and despair because their personal and social aspirations for justice, their high ideals cannot find expression.

Adolescence is indeed a time of great physical change in the body and in the brain. Neuroscience shows that puberty is a time where the brain which until then had been sprouting new neural connections at an amazing rate, starts pruning them and reorganising itself for a more efficient function. As a result, it is true that junior youth see new capacities arise and ability to question and understand the world around them, but also feel, experience, experiment, innovate and take risks; capacities which need to find a conjoined application to grow and consolidate. 

As the body grows, the emotional palette refines, the value system emerges with the capacity to build reasoning: this stage does not necessarily have to be accompanied by growing pains if we understand that it must be accompanied by opportunities for a gradual implementation of these new connecting capacities, which include all of these different aspects instead of compartmentalizing them. This holistic approach is crucial, especially during the early years of adolescence. It is during this time that fundamental personal and collective values will be formulated in the mind of an individual, who is struggling to let go of the simplistic views of his childhood. Junior youth (12-15 years old) and youth (15-24 years old) have a lot to say and contribute, and treating them like children or troublemakers would be missing an opportunity to help them forge their authentic self and to lay down the foundations of adulthood.

Developing the autonomy of pre-youth and youth and helping them to channel their creative energies towards the advancement of civilization, is an endeavour in which any parent, educator, and other caring adults can participate. There is no miracle recipe. The question is not whether to let go, or be stricter, or to oscillate between the two, nor is it thinking “kids will be kids”. Rather it is time for action and to focus our energies on leaving our stale beliefs behind, and creating a climate of ongoing dialogue and respectful consideration so that we all can learn. As a parent, it's time to put into practice all the patience and compassion you developed during those long, sleepless nights of infancy. Our extended families and friends can provide support to create a space of growth opportunities for pre-youth and youth. Thus, as we develop an understanding of the specific needs and capabilities of adolescents, we can organically develop a new culture, supported by an educational process rooted in our recognition of the nobility of the human being.

Espace éducateurs

Un espace dédié à tous les éducateurs et accompagnants des 12-18 ans : parents, enseignants, animateurs, éducateurs spécialisés 

 Le but est d’offrir un lieu d’échanges et de partages, afin d’apprendre ensemble comment aller plus loin dans l’accompagnement des jeunes et la découverte de leur immense potentiel.

Intervenante : Laurence de CLOSETS

Public : parents de jeunes entre 12 et 18 ans

Format : en ligne – 4 heures (2 x 2 heures)

 

Objectifs et méthodologie :

• Changer son regard sur l’adolescent et voir en lui « le nouveau-né social »
décrit par Maria Montessori

• Comprendre le potentiel de cette période de transformation cruciale dans le développement de l’enfant et la construction de l’adulte

• Comprendre les besoins spécifiques de cette tranche d’âge en lien avec les changements profonds de la société

• Développer un nouveau type de relation et d’accompagnement des adolescents, tourné vers « l’autonomie sociale »

• Échanger et réfléchir à partir des travaux de Maria Montessori

• Analyser des expériences vécues et échanger autour de pratiques

Qui est Laurence de Closets ?

Laurence est éducatrice Montessori, formatrice et responsable de projets éducatifs. Elle a passé les 20 dernières années à observer et écouter les parents, les éducateurs, les enfants et adolescents sur quatre continents et dans une dizaine de pays. Elle se consacre à la recherche de l’universalité dans le développement de l’enfant et étudie ce qui ferait de l’éducation l’outil ultime pour construire un monde meilleur. Son travail se concentre sur la transformation de l’éducateur adulte et sa façon de percevoir l’enfant, et comment cette transformation peut changer l’environnement dans lequel l’enfant grandit, et permettre de révéler son potentiel. En 2019, Laurence a publié l’ouvrage Le Secret de l’enfant – Comment changer son regard sur l’enfant, qui se concentre sur les 0-6 ans et les 12-18 ans.

www.lesecretdelenfant.com

Derniers ateliers

- 16 et 30 septembre 2021 (20h à 22h)

- 7 et 21 octobre (20h à 22h)

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter : Mélanie Sambuis

Adolescence : crise ou opportunité ? 

Rebecca TECLEMARIAM-MESBAH

Docteure en neurosciences spécialisée dans l'éducation
Membre du Conseil d’administration de Gemmes

Au début des années 1600, Shakespeare fit dire à l’un de ses personnages : « Je voudrais qu’il n’y eût point d’âge entre dix et vingt-trois ans, ou que la jeunesse dormît tout le reste du temps dans l’intervalle : car on ne fait autre chose dans l’intervalle que donner des enfants aux filles, insulter des vieillards, piller et se battre ». Depuis, peu a changé. La vision selon laquelle l’adolescence est la pire partie de la vie est encore profondément ancrée dans nos croyances. Les parents se sentent désemparés et impuissants face à leurs enfants devenus adolescents. Je les ai souvent entendu dire : « Nous ne reconnaissons plus notre enfant ! ». L’enseignant de collège se voit comme un gladiateur entrant dans l’arène alors qu’il passe la porte de sa salle de classe. Et les adolescents eux-mêmes « broient du noir » : ils se sentent incompris et désespérés car leurs idéaux, aspirations personnelles et sens de la justice ne peuvent pas s’exprimer.  

L’adolescence est en effet une période de grands changements physiques, extérieurs et intérieurs. La puberté est une période où le cerveau commence à éliminer et réorganiser les connexions neurales développées avec intensité pendant l’enfance, pour augmenter leur efficacité. C’est un peu comme si le cerveau essayait de privilégier la qualité à la quantité, en créant des associations et en éliminant les redondances. De nouvelles capacités émergent alors chez l’adolescent : capacités à se questionner plus en profondeur et comprendre le monde qui l’entoure, mais aussi à ressentir, expérimenter, innover et prendre des risques. Des aptitudes qui doivent être mises en pratique conjointement pour être consolidées.  

La croissance du corps, le raffinement de la palette émotionnelle, l’émergence d’un système de valeurs et de la capacité à construire des raisonnements, ne doivent pas nécessairement être une étape douloureuse. Pas si l’on comprend qu’elle doit être accompagnée par des opportunités d’une mise en pratique progressives de ces nouvelles capacités, et connectant l’ensemble de ces différents aspects au lieu de les compartimenter. Cette approche holistique est cruciale, notamment lors des premières années de l’adolescence. C’est durant cette période que les valeurs fondamentales personnelles et collectives seront formulées dans l’esprit d’un individu, qui lutte alors pour abandonner les vues simplistes de son enfance. Les pré-jeunes (12-15 ans) et les jeunes (15-24 ans) ont beaucoup à dire et contribuer, et les traiter comme des enfants ou des trublions serait rater une occasion pour les aider à se forger une identité authentique et poser les éléments fondateurs de l’âge adulte.  

Développer l’autonomie des pré-jeunes et jeunes et les aider à canaliser leurs énergies créatives vers l’avancement de la civilisation, est une entreprise dans laquelle tout parents, éducateurs, ou adultes bienveillants peuvent participer. Il n’y a pas de recette miracle. La question n’est pas de davantage de laisser-faire, ou d’être plus strict, ou d’osciller entre les deux.  Il ne s’agit pas non plus d’attendre que la « jeunesse se passe ». Mais il faut tout de même agir et concentrer nos énergies pour laisser nos croyances éculées derrière nous, et créer un climat de dialogue continu et de considération respectueuse pour que tous puissent apprendre. En tant que parent, il est temps de mettre en pratique toute la patience et la compassion développées pendant ces longues nuits sans sommeil de la petite enfance. Nos familles élargies et amis peuvent apporter leur soutien pour créer un espace d’opportunités de croissance pour les pré-jeunes et les jeunes. Ainsi, à mesure que nous développons une compréhension des besoins spécifiques et des capacités des adolescents, nous pourrons développer organiquement une nouvelle culture, soutenue par un processus éducatif enraciné dans notre reconnaissance de la noblesse de l’être humain.