1. Pierre
Pierre
AVANZO

President of the Board of Directors

Pierre discovered his passion for leadership development during his first twenty-year long career in management consulting at McKinsey & Company. Serving others, and allowing them to discover and tap into their own potential, is what profoundly motivates him. After training in coaching and facilitation, he created Leadership Inside, a leadership advisory firm, offering services ranging from executive coaching to coaching management teams or organizing holistic development programmes. Working with a stimulating international team of coaches, Pierre strives to remain at the forefront of innovation in adult development thanks to constant renewal.

“As an executive coach, I realized that our educational systems and culture were ignoring the ABCs of personal development. Adults don’t know themselves, and they have never learned how to do so. Yet, this is the absolute prerequisite for being able to progress and transform oneself. Therefore, what could be more relevant than equipping young people, right from their adolescence, with these introspective skills? It is this aspect of Gemmes that I find most fascinating. By helping young people become aware of their way of being and by encouraging them to write their future, Gemmes will unlock an unexpected transformational potential for a positive impact in society. Future generations will be able from an early age to take on and solve issues that adults of today are unsuccessfully tackling and have been too slow to respond to.”

7. Caroline
Caroline
AVANZO

Founder

After training as a lawyer at the Paris Bar and working for a law firm, Caroline developed a passion for the field of human rights. She worked for various human rights NGOs in New York (Human Rights Watch), Paris (International Federation for Human Rights), New Delhi (Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative; Housing and Land Rights Network; Working Group on Human Rights in India and the UN) and Geneva (World Organization Against Torture). She then joined the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) in Geneva, and worked as an investigator with the UN Fact-Finding Mission on Myanmar. She left the UN in 2019 to devote herself entirely to young people, and created Gemmes in 2020.

“I am convinced that all human beings are noble in their essence, overflowing with qualities waiting to be unlocked. With Gemmes, I want to create an innovative and welcoming space for young people. We aim to provide them with keys to understanding their internal world, but also the world around them, so as to inspire them and give them the impulse to act for a better world.”

5. Rebecca
Rebecca
TECLEMARIAM-MESBAH

Rebecca is passionate about education and has more than 25 years of experience advising and supporting educational initiatives around the world. As Academic Director of an innovative international school in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, she has mentored teachers, collaborated with parents, and developed unique educational approaches with a focus on promoting a culture of trust, collaboration and respect. She has extensive practical experience as a Biology teacher, as well as in Religious Education and the Visual Arts. Rebecca began her career as a teacher and researcher in Neurobiology in France and the Netherlands. She lectured on Research Policy in Amsterdam, and worked on supporting capacity building for research in development projects in Bangladesh. She then moved to Bosnia and Herzegovina where she developed programmes for children and youth with the Bahá’í community. Rebecca holds a PhD in Neuroscience and a Master’s degree in Gender and Development. She is a Montessori teacher and teacher-trainer, and received the Montessori Practitioner of the Year Award in 2016. Rebecca is also a multi-talented artist: her work is on display in private collections around the world; she has published and illustrated several children’s books, inspired by her Ethiopian roots and her life in the Balkans; and recently wrote a musical piece performed in Kosovo.

“I am an optimist and always awed by human potential. Offering opportunities to children and youth, to discover and develop the breadth of their character and give meaning to their lives is a cause I am passionate about. They are the ones who can transform and bring light to the world. Gemmes, an energetic and multidimensional endeavour, which embodies a positive and holistic vision of the human being through action and reflection, is definitely exciting!”

3. Jerome
Jérôme
BELLION-JOURDAN

Jérôme is a Senior Fellow in Residence at the Centre for Global Governance at the Graduate Institute in Geneva. He is working on an initiative to try out new forms of global negotiations, a collaborative exploration with individuals from international organizations, governments, the private sector, civil society and others. For nearly nine years, he led negotiations for the European Union at the United Nations – mainly at the Human Rights Council – as a diplomat with the Delegation of the European Union in Geneva. Previously, he worked at the European Commission in Cairo and Jerusalem. The protection and promotion of Human Rights has been a leitmotif in his professional career, which began at the International Secretariat of Amnesty International in London. He also served as an Arabic-speaking delegate for the International Committee of the Red Cross, conducting prison visits in the West Bank. He is co-author of the book The Charitable Crescent, Politics of Aid in the Muslim World, which builds on his PhD thesis at Sciences Po Paris. He is a member of the Board of Directors of Sciences Po Grenoble, as well as a member of the Ludothèque (game library) Committee of the Saint Jean district in Geneva, where he lives.

“I agreed to join the Gemmes Board of Directors because I am convinced that this innovative project will help unlock the potential of youth, which we so desperately need to build the world of tomorrow. Gemmes offers the space to go beyond the motto ‘give youth a voice’, which I so frequently heard during my diplomatic career, but which often remained merely empty words. This space can allow young people to develop their vision and their powers of expression, which will provide them with the confidence to speak out and act for a better world. I also see how Gemmes will be able to highlight the positive experiences of transformations on all continents, and promote exchanges that we all so desperately need. As a father, I see how Gemmes can appeal to parents who do not always know how to help their children’s aspirations, whether manifest or latent, to flourish.”

2. Muriel
Muriel
OTT

After graduating from ESSEC Business School, Paris, in 1989, Muriel first worked for three years in management consulting in London at LEK. She then joined the Mergers & Acquisitions team of LVMH Group in Paris, within which she then moved on to other roles in finance (management controller, financial director). After eleven years in finance, she moved to Portugal and then Germany. Next, she then relocated, with her family, to Japan for four years, where she created and developed an educational structure for children who were failing academically at the French-Japanese school in Tokyo. On returning to France in 2008, she trained in conflict resolution and obtained a state diploma in mediation. Since 2017, she has been working as Secretary General of the NGO Le Projet Imagine, whose mission is to inspire people to take action through documentaries and programmes fostering civil action.

“I agreed to join the Board of Directors of Gemmes to promote activities centred around youth transformation. I believe in the power of inspiration through images, music and gatherings to develop the capacity to be, to think and to act differently in order to transform the world. I love accompanying those who seek meaning and new directions, to reveal the very best they have within.”

4. Kamyar
Kamyar
DJONEIDI

Kamyar is a technical trainer in the field of computer networking. He holds a DEA (Master’s 2) in Mathematics from the University of Paris VII, a Master’s Degree in Networks at Télécom Bretagne, and a Master’s Degree in Business Administration at Panthéon Sorbonne. He has been the creator of a computer centre and a publishing house, a physical sciences schoolteacher, a printing industry trainer, and an educator in various branches of computing and networks. In non-profit endeavours, Kamyar has been an animator and director in an association for scientific outreach activities for about ten years; organizer and director of youth camps for more than 30 years; and an animators’ trainer.

“It was with great enthusiasm that I discovered the goal of Gemmes to offer a constructive educational framework for today’s young people to work towards the better world we all wish for. I immediately agreed to join. Youth is a special moment when understanding the world imbues life with meaning and allows us to blossom. It is also a period during which we develop qualities and talents that will enrich our existence. It is the time of sowing, when the seeds fall to the ground, but the day will come when a splendid tree will grow, with branches overflowing with fruits.”

6. Roland_new
Sètondji Roland
ADJOVI

Originally from Benin, Roland studied International Law and Political Science applied to Africa. He has taught around the world, in Côte d’Ivoire, the United States, France, Mali, and Tanzania. He has worked at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and the International Criminal Court. He has also served as an expert on the United Nations Working Group on Arbitrary Detention. In addition, Roland has developed a private practice on Human Rights and Labour Law within international organizations, and on International Sports Law. Being at the service of others is key to his fulfilment, which his career has so far allowed him to do.

“I have four children. I also come from a large family, with eleven brothers and sisters and about thirty nieces and nephews. I would have liked to have an organization such as Gemmes for them, and therefore had no hesitation in joining this initiative.”

1. Pierre
Pierre
AVANZO

Président du Conseil d’administration

C’est au cours de sa première carrière d’une vingtaine d’années chez McKinsey & Company, dédiée au conseil à destination des directions générales, que Pierre a découvert sa passion pour le développement personnel et professionnel. Servir l’autre, en lui permettant de découvrir et d’exploiter son propre potentiel, est ce qui le motive profondément. Après s’être formé au coaching et à la facilitation, il a créé Leadership Inside, une société proposant des services spécialisés dans le développement du leadership, allant du coaching exécutif à l’accompagnement des équipes de direction ou à l’organisation de programme de développement holistique. Entouré d’une équipe internationale et stimulante de coachs, Pierre s’efforce de rester à la pointe de l’innovation en matière de développement de l’adulte grâce à un renouvellement permanent.

« Dans mon travail d’accompagnement de coaching des dirigeants, je me suis rendu compte que notre système éducatif et notre culture faisaient l’impasse sur le b-a-ba du développement personnel. Les adultes ne se connaissent pas eux-mêmes, et n’ont pas appris à le faire. Or, c’est la condition sine qua none pour être capable de progrès et de transformation individuelle. Dès lors, quoi de plus pertinent que d’équiper les jeunes, dès leur adolescence, avec ces aptitudes d’introspection ? C’est cet aspect de Gemmes que je trouve le plus fascinant. En aidant les jeunes à prendre conscience de leur façon d’être et en les encourageant à être les auteurs de leurs vies, Gemmes va libérer un potentiel insoupçonné de transformation positive dans la société. Ce que les adultes d’aujourd’hui s’efforcent de corriger tardivement et sans grand succès, les générations de demain sauront l’affronter et le dépasser dès leur plus jeune âge. »

7. Caroline
Caroline
AVANZO

Fondatrice Gemmes

Après une formation d’avocate au Barreau de Paris et une expérience en cabinet d’avocats, Caroline s’est passionnée pour le domaine des droits humains. Elle a travaillé pour différentes ONGs de défense des droits humains à New York (Human Rights Watch), Paris (Fédération Internationale des Ligues des Droits de l’Homme), New Delhi (Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative ; Housing and Land Rights Network ; Working Group on Human Rights in India and the UN) et Genève (Organisation Mondiale Contre la Torture). Elle a ensuite rejoint le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies aux Droits de l’Homme à Genève puis travaillé comme enquêtrice au sein de la Mission d’établissement des faits de l’ONU sur le Myanmar. En 2019, elle a quitté l’ONU pour consacrer son énergie à la jeunesse avec la conviction que c’était la meilleure manière de construire le monde de demain.

« Ayant travaillé plus de 15 ans dans le domaine des droits humains, j’ai été confrontée au pire de ce dont l’être humain était capable. Loin de me décourager, cela m’a donné envie de m’investir auprès des jeunes pour les aider à développer leur potentiel. Comme disait Martin Luther King : ‘ L’obscurité ne peut pas chasser l’obscurité, seule la lumière peut le faire ‘. C’est pour contribuer à mettre de la lumière dans la vie des jeunes et les aider à développer toutes les gemmes présentes en eux que j’ai décidé de fonder Gemmes. »

5. Rebecca
Rebecca
TECLEMARIAM-MESBAH

Rebecca est passionnée par l’éducation, et a plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans le conseil et le soutien aux initiatives éducatives de par le monde. En tant que directrice académique d’une école internationale innovante à Sarajevo, en Bosnie-Herzégovine, elle a encadré des enseignants, collaboré avec des parents, et développé des approches éducatives uniques en se concentrant sur la promotion d’une culture de confiance, de collaboration et de respect. Elle possède une vaste expérience pratique en tant que professeur de biologie, d’éducation religieuse et d’art visuel. Rebecca a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’enseignante et chercheuse en neurobiologie en France et aux Pays-Bas. Elle a ensuite enseigné à Amsterdam sur les politiques de recherche, et a travaillé sur le soutien des capacités de recherche dans des projets de développement au Bangladesh. Elle a ensuite déménagé en Bosnie-Herzégovine où elle a initié et élaboré des programmes pour les enfants et les jeunes avec la communauté bahá’íe. Rebecca est titulaire d’un Doctorat européen en neurosciences et d’un Master en genre et développement. Elle est enseignante et formatrice Montessori, et a reçu le prix du praticien Montessori de l’année en 2016. Rebecca est également une artiste aux multiples talents : certaines de ses œuvres sont exposées, elle a publié et illustré plusieurs livres pour enfants, inspirés de ses racines éthiopiennes et de sa vie dans les Balkans, et a récemment écrit une pièce musicale jouée au Kosovo.

« Je suis une optimiste invétérée et suis toujours impressionnée par le potentiel humain. Offrir l’opportunité, particulièrement aux enfants et aux jeunes, de découvrir et développer les richesses de leur caractère et donner un sens à leur vie, est une cause qui me passionne. Ce sont eux qui pourront transformer le monde et nous apporter plus de lumière. Une initiative énergique et multidimensionnelle telle que Gemmes, qui incarne une vision positive et holistique de l’être humain à travers l’action et la réflexion, ne peut que m’enthousiasmer ! »

3. Jerome
Jérôme
BELLION-JOURDAN

Jérôme est un Senior Fellow in Residence au Centre de Gouvernance Globale du Graduate Institute de Genève. Il travaille sur une initiative visant à expérimenter de nouvelles formes de négociations globales, une exploration collaborative avec des individus venant d’organisations internationales, gouvernements, secteur privé, société civile et autres. Pendant près de neuf ans, il a lui-même mené des négociations pour l’Union Européenne aux Nations Unies – principalement au Conseil des Droits de l’Homme – comme diplomate à la Délégation de l’Union Européenne à Genève. Il avait occupé auparavant des postes pour la Commission Européenne au Caire et à Jérusalem. La protection et la promotion des droits humains est un fil conducteur de son parcours professionnel, débuté au Secrétariat International d’Amnesty International à Londres. Il a également été délégué arabisant pour le Comité International de la Croix Rouge pour mener des visites de prisons en Cisjordanie. Il est le co-auteur de The Charitable Crescent. Politics of Aid in the Muslim World, aboutissement de sa thèse à Sciences Po Paris. Il est membre du Conseil d’Administration de Sciences Po Grenoble, mais aussi du Comité de la Ludothèque du quartier Saint Jean à Genève, où il réside.

« J’ai accepté de rejoindre l’aventure de Gemmes et son Conseil d’Administration, car je suis convaincu que ce projet novateur permettra de libérer le potentiel des jeunes, dont nous avons tellement besoin pour construire le monde de demain. Gemmes offre l’espace pour aller au-delà de la devise « donner la parole aux jeunes », tellement entendue lors de mon parcours diplomatique mais souvent restée un slogan, et permettre aux jeunes de développer leur vision et les formes d’expression qui leur donneront la confiance de prendre la parole, et d’agir pour un monde meilleur. Je vois aussi comment Gemmes pourra mettre en valeur les expériences positives de transformations sur tous les continents, et favoriser ce partage dont nous avons tellement besoin. Comme papa, je vois comment Gemmes saura répondre aux parents qui ne savent pas toujours comment s’y prendre pour que germent et grandissent les aspirations, exprimées ou cachées, de leurs enfants. »

2. Muriel
Muriel
OTT

Diplomée de l’Essec Business School en 1989, Muriel a d’abord travaillé pendant trois ans en conseil en stratégie à Londres chez LEK. Elle a ensuite rejoint l’équipe de Fusions & Acquisitions du Groupe LVMH à Paris, où elle a ensuite évolué vers d’autres métiers de la finance (contrôleur de gestion, directrice financière). Après onze ans dans la finance, elle est partie en expatriation au Portugal et en Allemagne. Elle s’est ensuite installée avec sa famille au Japon, pendant quatre ans, où elle a créé et développé une structure éducative pour les enfants en échec scolaire au Lycée franco-japonais de Tokyo. À son retour en France en 2008, elle s’est formée à la gestion de conflits et a obtenu un diplôme d’état de médiation. Depuis 2017, elle travaille comme secrétaire générale pour l’ONG Le Projet Imagine, dont la mission est d’inspirer pour agir, à travers des documentaires et des programmes d’accompagnement d’engagement citoyen.

« J’ai accepté de rejoindre le Conseil d’Administration de Gemmes pour contribuer à un développement prometteur d’actions de transformation de la jeunesse. Je crois à la puissance de l’inspiration par l’image, la musique, les rencontres, pour développer la capacité d’être, de penser et d’agir différemment pour transformer le monde. J’aime accompagner des chercheurs de sens et de directions nouvelles pour faire émerger ce qu’ils ont de meilleur en eux. »

4. Kamyar
Kamyar
DJONEIDI

Kamyar est formateur technique dans le domaine des réseaux informatiques. Il est titulaire d’un DEA (Master 2) de Mathématiques à l’université de Paris VII, un Master Réseau à Télécom Bretagne, et un Master en Administration des entreprises à Panthéon Sorbonne. Il a été successivement créateur d’un centre informatique et d’une maison d’édition, enseignant en sciences physiques au collège, formateur sur les métiers de l’imprimerie, et formateur dans diverses branches de l’informatique et des réseaux. En termes d’engagement associatif et social, Kamyar a été animateur et directeur dans des associations d’animations scientifiques durant une dizaine d’années, organisateur et directeur de colonies de vacances pendant plus de 30 ans, et formateur d’animateurs pour les accueils collectifs de mineurs.

« C’est avec un grand enthousiasme que j’ai pris connaissance du but de Gemmes d’offrir un cadre éducatif constructif aux jeunes d’aujourd’hui, afin de parvenir à ce monde meilleur que nous appelons tous de nos vœux. Et j’y ai immédiatement adhéré. La jeunesse est une période particulière où la compréhension du monde permet de donner un sens à la vie et de s’épanouir. C’est aussi le moment de développer des qualités et des talents qui enrichissent l’existence. Au temps des semailles, la graine tombe sur le sol, mais le jour viendra où s’élèvera un arbre splendide aux branches surchargées de fruits. »

6. Roland_new
Sètondji Roland
ADJOVI

D’origine béninoise, Roland a fait des études de droit international et de sciences politiques appliquées à l’Afrique. Il a enseigné à travers le monde, notamment en Côte d’Ivoire, aux États-Unis, en France, au Mali, et en Tanzanie. Il a travaillé au Tribunal pénal international pour le Rwanda et à la Cour pénale internationale. Il a également siégé en tant qu’expert au sein du Groupe de travail des Nations Unies sur la détention arbitraire. Par ailleurs, Roland a développé une pratique privée en droits humains, en droit du travail dans les organisations internationales, et en droit international du sport. Être au service des autres participe fortement à son épanouissement, ce que sa carrière lui a permis jusqu’à présent de pratiquer.

« Je suis parent de quatre enfants. Je suis également issu d’une grande famille, avec onze frères et sœurs et une petite trentaine de neveux et nièces. Pour eux, j’aurais aimé une organisation comme Gemmes, et c’est pour cette raison que je n’ai pas hésité à m’associer à cette initiative. »